HBBC: Self-Love

 

Welcome to The Half-Baked Bloggers Consortium’s (HBBC) first post, where Maha Mohamed, Ammar Al-Majali, Rana Safi, Maryam, Yara Hani, Noha Hanafy, Noor Al Zubaidy, Deppy, Nouran Ziad, Noor El terk, Salima Al Masrouri, Mariam Tarek, Sara Amr, Yasmine Fayez, Rania Khaled, Engi Amin, Ibhog, Abeer Zaki, Hagar Haggag Yomna Arbad, Salma M San, My Essam and I voice our opinions about a weekly topic chosen by various members. This weekend’s topic is Self-love, chosen by Nema

 

“Know thyself” : γνῶθι σεαυτόν : That’s what written on the wall in Delphi of the Ancient Greek. Is it better to know oneself, and then love it or just fall in love with yourself.

I think vanity could be a form of loving one’s self.. I am vain, yes i do confess that I am vain, and i adore my self and I think I am awesome though I am a failure and a loser, but I love those aspects of me, I use I a lot… but I love Ammar the crazy self centered person, who is cold, really cold, emotionless, who wakes up in the morning and says I love you to himself then go one with his life.

That is not the point.. what is the point then one must love himself to function in life, to move on, explore the unknown, one must lobe and trust him/herself so they can achieve any goal in life. Indeed it is a cliche ‘ self love’ but it is part of who we are and what makes us humans or social animals.

Are we taught to love ourselves? No we are not, we rarely see out parents loving themselves.. they are busy with life and its struggle. Teachers at school are busy teaching us classes and courses.. other kids are busy they want to prove who is the strongest/coolest/class clown etc etc… then who is capable of teaching us how to love ourselves? No one, but us. Let’s pay attention to ourselves, listen to that voice in your mind that wants you to be better 🙂

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “HBBC: Self-Love

  1. Noor says:

    “I think I am awesome though I am a failure and a loser.”
    Honestly? We’re all full of contradictions, but… whatever you’re not a loser.

    And long live vanity. xD

  2. Knee says:

    enta ezzai self-centered keda? =P Haha I love this perspective. I really believe it’s one of the things that make people feel so much better about life, after feeling good about themselves.
    Great start!! =D
    Write on~

    • observationofalostsoul says:

      Ma3rafsh I think its all from Al Mutanabi … reading all his poetry made me egocentric الخيل و الليل و البيداء تعرفني و السيف و الرمح و القرطاس و القلم it affects one’s sense of reality. Do i care?? nope il wa7id lazim yi3eesh 🙂 7ata law safla2a 3ala dahr il nass looool

  3. deppy says:

    Haha I like this one. And actually I find your self adore is impressive xD *thump up*

    • observationofalostsoul says:

      من أراد أن ينصف الناس من نفسه فليحب لهم ما يحب لنفسه. الامام علي بن أبي طالب
      Something i just read and found suitable.
      One really can’t live without loving themselves, even if u decide to stay single, never marry etc at least show some self-adoration and admiration.

  4. Maha says:

    I really like how you put this.
    I got only one question though, is loving yourself something which can be taught?

    • observationofalostsoul says:

      Thanks Maha,

      Yes it can if we observe our parents loving themselves and loving each others. If the father n mother are close, they are kind to each others and they show the kids that its good to show love, even when life is bad and unkind that one must still show an aspect of love.

      Yet many families do not show any love, because of cultural/ pseudo-religious reasons – Haram etc- thus the children are not raised in a loving environment, causing them some difficulties with loving themselves because they think they are unworthy of that love.

      I hope that answered your question.

Leave a Reply

