God Save My Shoes

The relationship between women and their shoes is one of life’s greatest mysteries; a mystery that director Julie Benasra examines further in the sure fire hit, “God Save My Shoes.”

The documentary sets out to uncover the sociological, historical, cultural, psychological and even erotic factors that lead women to be completely obsessed with the toe-hugging, many times sky-high objects we wear on our feet.

Benasra, who entered the documentary film making world back in 2004, traveled to Florence, Milan, Paris, New York, Los Angeles and even Toronto, interviewing shoe-wearers and shoemakers alike, including some of the most influential people in the business.

If you own 60 pairs of shoes, you’ll want and probably need to see this documentary.

What is your relationship with shoes? and how many pairs do you have?

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “God Save My Shoes

  1. Melanie says:

    I love my shoes, I have no less than 50 pairs and most of them are designer ones. I feel sexy in them. I think of them as lovers who wont cheat on you and leave you.
    Love the post.

  2. observationofalostsoul says:

    Thanks for your comment Melanie. 50 shoes are a lot in my opinion, but who am I to judge. Yes I understand the cheating part, men could be one hell of an nuisance to women.

  3. Noor says:

    Wow at the above comment. 50!
    I have 12; 4 sandals, 5 heels, one boot, one ballerina and tennis shoes.
    I need new ones! I have no problem with spending money on shoes, they’re defo something to invest in. 😀

  4. observationofalostsoul says:

    What attracts you to the shoe? and a dozen pair is the average I guess.. More than one girl at work said around a dozen pairs.

  5. Noor says:

    That’s a tough question. Shoes. They take you places. They kind of give you confidence. You look at a pair, and think of the stuff you could wear it with and how it’s gonna look on you.
    I don’t know, but there’s defo something about them. 😀

Leave a Reply

