Quotes – The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“That’s what I love about reading: one tiny thing will interest you in a book, and that tiny thing will lead you to another book, and another bit there will lead you onto a third book. It’s geometrically progressive – all with no end in sight, and for no other reason than sheer enjoyment.”

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad books.”

“Moses: God or crowd control?!?”

“I sometimes think I prefer suitors in books rather than right in front of me. How awful, backward, cowardly, and mentally warped that will be if it turns out to be true.”

4 thoughts on “Quotes – The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

  1. Noor says:

    Oh my God! you’ve read this book!!!!!! I loooooove this book… *jumps in excitment*

    it’s sucha lovely lovely book for every reader, I wanna be a part of such a society around people who read…. I just felt so happy after I read it, and the idea that it’s all in letters is just wonderful.
    Did I say how much I loved it?!

    😀

  2. observationofalostsoul says:

    @Noor

    Yep I loved it so much… the whole method of using telegrams and letters is just so nice.

    I loved Elizabeth and wanted to meet her, I loved the kid, hated the American publisher… and wished Stephan wasn’t gay so he would end up with Juliet instead of what his name …. i forgot.

    I enjoyed the failed Ms Marple at the end of the book… i felt sorry for the old lady. But loved the Oscar Wilde bit

  3. Noor says:

    Oh i can’t remember what was his name either though I liked his awkwardness and how he got to meet her in the first place. I thought there might have been something between her and her long time friend, so I was shocked he was gay!

    I can’t remember the Oscar Wilde bit! 😮 I’ve only read it like 6 months ago, but in my defense I finished it in like a day so I went over it really fast. Perhaps I should pick it up again sometime…
    I just wished more people know about this book!

  4. observationofalostsoul says:

    I heard about it in 2009 but never had the chance to read it, like there was a huge buzz about it in Europe when it was published so i found it a few days ago and read it in like 3 days.

Leave a Reply

